Community Education Student of the Year Awards Finalists Announced

CCA announced the finalists for its annual Community Education Student of the Year Awards. The ten 2022 finalists are:

Gary Allen, Byron Community College
Bradley Robinson, Central Coast Community College
Ivy Nieng Tieh, Community College Northern Inland
Gloria (Yebing) Tang, Hornsby Ku-Ring-Gai Community College
Maya Wills, Kiama & Shoalhaven Community College
Paramjit (Pam) Kaur Sunner, Macquarie Community College
Tracy Keenan, Parramatta Community College
Grahame Neville, Tamworth Community College
Wayne Brown, The Junction Community Centre
Kathy Reiri, Western Riverina Community College

The Awards ceremony will take place in the Sydney CBD on Tuesday 7 February 2023 at 330pm, with remote participation possible. This is the sixth consecutive year that CCA has run the Student of the Year Awards (view previous finalists and winners here).

Guest speaker at the Awards ceremony will be author, teacher, lawyer and policy adviser Joanna Maxwell (pictured below), the Chair of the Board of Sydney Community College, who will speak about the learning journey in adult and community education in the context of the changing world of work and living longer. She is also Director, Age Research with the Australian Human Rights Commission; and a member of the NSW Government Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing (MACA). Joanna is the author of Rethink Your Career in your 40s, 50s and 60s (HarperCollins/ABC Books) and a frequent media commentator on career reinvention and older Australians. She holds a Master of Laws, a Master of Education and a Cert IV, Training and Assessment.

This year’s nominations are students who have undertaken formal study with an Australian not-for-profit adult and community education (ACE) organisation during the period 1 September 2021 through 31 August 2022. Nominations were submitted through community education providers.

Decisions on the Award winners will be based on the nominating organisation’s nomination, based on career and study achievements; communication, team and leadership skills development; and achievements in areas other than study and work, including community involvement. More details on judging criteria can be found in the Terms and Conditions (PDF).

Funding for the 2022 Awards has been provided by the New South Wales Government.

Previous winners: View the “Honour Roll” of previous Community Education Student of the Year Award winners here – 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021.

Keynote speaker Joanna Maxwell:

Comments are closed.